Lesson 4

in this lesson we learned about recording our movements in dance through labanotation. this is a method used to record movement in dance or rather in general life. doctors also use this method to record movement so they can track the progress of physically harmed patients. it was initially created by Rudolf Laban, and later on edited more through the works of Ann Hutchison Guess and others.

11026153_360309404153047_5804583864290340055_n

In my opinion Labanotation is not really vital in the world today but very useful and can come in handy in some situations, such as a performer practicing an needing a clear cut plan as to what they are going to do and when/how they are going to do it. when we did it in class a couple lessons back I was very confused, but after doing my own research and asking some questions from my teacher I got to understand it a little better.

This is an example of Labanotation

Leave a comment